Categories: News

Nico Rosberg hands out Extreme E to Lewis Hamilton during the first race weekend

Nico Rosberg, Molly Taylor and Johan Kristoffersson
Photo: Nico Rosberg – Twitter

Nico Rosberg’s team has won the first race in the new Extreme E racing series. Lewis Hamilton and his team had to settle for third place but is second in the championship.

Rosberg and Hamilton, at the Mercedes F1 team they were not only teammates but also each other’s rivals for many years. When Rosberg was crowned champion in 2016, he immediately said goodbye to the sport, but in the Extreme E-racing class they now meet again.

The Extreme E is a completely new racing series, but nevertheless many impressive names from the motorsport world have committed themselves to participate.

For example, in addition to Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, who own a team, there are also many well-known names who get behind the wheel. The most famous name is undoubtedly nine-time rally champion Sebastien Loeb.

In addition, two-time rally champion Carlos Sainz, three-time rallycross champion Johan Kristoffersson and world rallycross champion Timmy Hansen also participate. Another well-known name is none other than Jenson Button, the 2009 F1 champion, who, like Rosberg and Hamilton, will participate with their own team.

The first race weekend in the Extreme E was finished in Saudi Arabia. Rosberg X Racing took the victory with drivers Molly Taylor and Johan Kristoffersson. Andretti United took second place with Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings, Sébastien Loeb and Cristina Guttierrez (X44) had to settle for third place.

For the Extreme E, it is a dream scenario that the teams of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton compete at the top, in order to bring the new racing series to worldwide name recognition.

Extreme E championship standings:
1. Taylor / Kristoffersson (Rosberg X Racing) – 35 points
2. Gutierrez / Loeb (X44) – 30 points
3. Munnings/Hansen (Andretti United) – 28 punten
4. Sanz / Sainz (Acciona Sainz XE) – 26 ponts
5. Giampaoli Zonca / Bennett (Hispano Suiza) – 20 points
6. Ahlin-Kottulinsky / Button (JBXE) – 17 points
7. Hurtgen / Ekstrom (ABT Cupra) – 13 points
8. Price / Leduc (Segi TV Chip Ganassi) – 12 punten
9. Chadwick / Sarrazin (Veloce Racing) – 8 points

More F1 news:

  • – “Mercedes F1 car has the same problem as Williams”
  • – Red Bull boss confesses: “We had to reduce Honda engine Max Verstappen due to problem”
  • – VIDEO: Hilarious look back at the Bahrain GP in Lego
  • – A big step forward: “Honda engine is very close to the Mercedes engine”
  • – Lewis Hamilton victory at Bahrain GP in danger after Red Bull protest
  • .

    Recent Posts

    Ford Bronco test: why we should be happy that he is coming to the Netherlands in 2023

    Would the Ford Bronco make the switch to the Netherlands in 2023, we wondered in…

    14 hours ago

    First review Opel Astra Sports Tourer (2022): cool station wagon with plug

    The new Opel Astra is now also available as a station wagon. We test the…

    17 hours ago

    January-June 2022 car sales: these brands are having a bad year

    The demand for new cars is high, but manufacturers cannot supply them. And sit the…

    19 hours ago

    From ugly duckling to guardian angel: how the ‘halo’ also saved the life of Formula 1 driver Guanyu Zhou

    ©  REUTERS“If I had a circular saw, I would take that thing off immediately.” Those…

    21 hours ago

    Lewis Hamilton sneezes at Max Verstappen: “Leclerc is a sensible driver, clear difference to what I experienced last year”

    ©  ISOPIXAfter the race in Silverstone, Lewis Hamilton indirectly lashed out at Max Verstappen, the…

    22 hours ago

    Sainz wins, Ferrari loses: three conclusions from our F1 watcher after a memorable GP in Silverstone

    Carlos Sainz scored the first win of his career at Silverstone, but only half of…

    1 day ago

    This website uses cookies.