Categories: News

Kris Princen wins the Sezoensrally: “I did not expect this victory”

Kris Princen (Citroën DS3 WRC) won the Sezoensrally on Saturday. Grégoire Munster (Hyundai i20 N Rally2) finished second at 7.7 seconds and scores the maximum number of BRC points as the WRCs cannot score championship points. Vincent Verschueren (VW Polo GTi Rally2) finished third at 14 seconds.


In the absence of BRC leader Stéphane Lefebvre, it was an exciting race. Vincent Verschueren had the best start in the Sezoensrally but had to leave the lead to Gino Bux (Skoda Fabia Evo Rally2) after the second stage. In the second round, Grégoire Munster found a better set-up for his Hyundai and took the lead from Bux after the sixth stage. Munster finished the second five-stage loop in the lead with a 3.5-second bonus over an unleashed Kris Princen, who won five GC stages in a row in his old WRC.

In the third loop there was no limit to the Limburger who drove around with a much more powerful car. Princen eventually won the Season Rally. For the Limburger it is his fourth victory in this match. Remarkably, Princen won four times with four different cars. In 2014 it was with a Subaru Impreza WRC, in 2017 with a Skoda Fabia R5. In 2019 he beat everyone with a VW Polo GTi R5. And Princen won this edition with the Citroën DS3 WRC. “I really did not expect this victory”, said Princen at the finish of the last classification stage. “I had a good feeling in the car, but I didn’t expect to win. This is fantastic.”


Grégoire Munster battled Princen unequally with his Rally2 to finish second overall, but wins the race among the BRC drivers as the WRCs have been ruled out of the championship. “We tried our best, but the WRC was too strong. In the beginning it was a bit of a search for the set-up, but once we found it we could show our potential,” said Grégoire Munster. Vincent Verschueren finished third overall and scores important points for the championship. “Yes, but I think that the champion is already known”, the East Fleming winked.

In the GTs, the victory was for Gunther Monnens in his Porsche. De Limburger finished seventh overall. In the juniors, Charles Munster (Opel Corsa Rally4) was the fastest, but winning was out of the question for the Belgian champion. In the third stage he went upside down and lost all chances of victory. When a drive shaft broke off, he was finally allowed to make a cross over a good classification. Jonas Dewilde (Peugeot 208 Rally4) won the youth classification. Dirk Deveux (Ford Escort MK2) was the best in the Historics.

The next BRC race is the Ypres Rally, a race that, just like last year, also counts for the WRC.

Recent Posts

Elon Musk is a fan of modern slavery and calls American Tesla staff lazy

You must have a boss like that… One who is the richest man in the…

25 mins ago

The next Porsche 718 Cayman will be electric. You can see him here…

The Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS is one of the best sports cars ever made,…

16 hours ago

Russian invasion of Ukraine – Renault sells Lada for a symbolic amount of 1.5 euro cents

Renault was under intense pressure from politicians and public opinion to sell its majority stake…

19 hours ago

BMW M celebrates 50th anniversary with the on-M’s car ever: a whack of a monster SUV

BMW M once stood for excellent engine technology, refined steering precision and excellent chassis balance.…

21 hours ago

Still hope for the combustion engine in the EU

We recently wrote that the European Parliament had approved plans to ban the sale of…

24 hours ago

Stoffel Vandoorne extends his lead in the Formula E championship after a new podium place, teammate Nyck de Vries wins

Stoffel Vandoorne — © Mercedes Formula E teamThe Mercedes Formula E team leaves Berlin with…

2 days ago

This website uses cookies.